Trustees & Advisory Council

Future Generations University is a private nonprofit institution and recognized as such by Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3).


Board of Trustees

Future Generations Graduate School is governed by its Board of Trustees.


Ronald Carrier (Chair) - Harrisonburg, VA.

Isaac Bekalo - Addas Abbaz, Ethiopia

Shannon Bell - Lexington, KY.

Christopher Cluett - Seattle, WA.

Deepak Gopalakrishna - Washington, D.C.

Ruben Puentes - Punta del Esta, Uruguay

Kent Spellman - Fairmont, W.V.

Michael Stranahan - Aspen, CO.

Daniel C. Taylor - Franklin, W.V.


Advisory Council

Future Generations University has an external Advisory Council consisting of leaders in the fields of higher education, international development, technology and systems thinkings.


Brenda Gouley (U.K)​ - Former Vice-Chancellor, Open University (U.K); Former Vice-CHancellor, University of Natal (South America)


Kul C. Gautam (Nepal) - Former Assistant Secretary General United Nations and Deputy Executive Director of UNICEF. Coordinator of the 1990 World Summit for Children.


David Hales (U.S.A.) ​- Former President, College of the Atlantic; Former Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Government


Patricia Rosenfield, Ph.D. (U.S.A.) - Senior Fellow, Rockefeller Archives Center


George Rupp, Ph.D. (U.S.A.) - Former President, Columbia University, Rice University; also former President, International Rescue Committee


Susan Stroud (U.S.A.) - Executive Director, Innovations in Civic Participation. Co-founder the Talloires Network (a network of universities committed to education on civic engagement and social responsibility). Founding Director of AmeriCorps.